T100

jonathon

Unless something changes I’ll be picking up a clean T100. It’s got a lot of highway miles but it’s super clean and has the 5VZ-FE. I’m going to keep it stock and use it for forest trips. It’s been well maintained and there are no glaring issues. Anything I should plan taking care of or be aware of?

plh

Explorer
Excellent, I've been keeping my eyes open for one for about 6 months. Most are priced high for what you get. Hope you got a fair deal.

eblau

Adventurer
I've been beating the crap out of one for about 2 years now. Nothing but pure excellence so far. I did just put an idler arm on it though because the ball joint was about to fall out. Great trucks and a roomy cab unlike their taco/ pickup contemporaries.

jonathon

Should have it in my possession next week. I did get to drive it and it is a sweet driving truck that has been well maintained and never abused. It needs nothing but a driver seat belt and a tailgate bolt. This truck is truly a survivor.

phsycle

Adventurer
I have a family member who’s had a ‘99 T100 since new. Zero issues, although not a ton of mile for its age either. Good trucks.

jonathon

From all the reading I’ve done the chassis has more in common with the 86-95 US market pickup while the drive train is the same as the 1st gen Tacoma or 3rd gen T4R.

This example has 269k on it but it’s pretty much all highway. The engine is clean with no leaks. The transmission fluid is pink and smells fresh. Every works as it should. About the only things I saw it needed were a seat belt and the original shocks relaced.

The steering felt light and vague to me. Is that typical for the torsion bar IFS 4x4 trucks?

eblau

Adventurer