F150 vs Tundra....I’ll make a decision tomorrow

D

Deleted member 9101

I can get home with that pretty much no matter what happens, I can submerge it completely, drain it out, dry it out, put fluids in and drive away. Pretty sure I can't do that with a new computer driven Toyota, ford, dodge, chevy, Jeep, whatever.
Perspectives I guess.

Funny thing...I've been driving since 1994 and I've had one vehicle leave me stranded. It was a 2002 Tundra and although it was an easy fix, no one was open at 2000 on a Sunday night to get parts (alternator went out). Reguardless of what vehicle I would have been in, it still would have resulted in a tow truck taking me the last 70 miles of my trip home.

Also, I've never once worried about submerging a motor...haha.

direwolf82

Funny thing...I've been driving since 1994 and I've had one vehicle leave me stranded. It was a 2002 Tundra and although it was an easy fix, no one was open at 2000 on a Sunday night to get parts (alternator went out). Reguardless of what vehicle I would have been in, it still would have resulted in a tow truck taking me the last 70 miles of my trip home.

Also, I've never once worried about submerging a motor...haha.
That's very true. I was thinking more along the lines of computers getting fried, sensor wires getting yanked off or just how to make it go, I can drive my old Jeep on 4 out of 8 cylinders banging away. If I can ever get a 12v cummins then even the alternator going out wouldn't matter. Pop start and away you go, during the day as you wouldn't have lights of course.
Fording seems to be a personal thing, I love it but many people prefer to avoid it. I don't like the idea of having a big bad 4x4 then having to turn around, will always wonder a. What was on the other side of that and b. How bad could it have been to try? Guess that's why I take my basically stock 4runner places I've seen lifted jeeps on big tires turn around at.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

D

Deleted member 9101