Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD build thread

Romberger

I'm a long time reader of these forums. This is my first time posting. Here's a little background before we dive into this build. You can skip to when you start seeing picks of a WK if you don't care.

I've been offroading since college when I had a lifted Jeep YJ with a locker in the rear. I've wheeled multiple Toyota's and Jeeps through the years. I started the move to overlanding about 5 years ago, and this is my third build. I learned a lot about issues with adding weight, building drawer systems that weren't designed for my gear and general fabrication along the way. Here's a pic of each of my other builds:

image0 (1).jpegimage1 (2).jpeg

I fell in love with the capability of the quadradrive2 system on the WJ. I couldn't resist when I found a 2007 WK with the CRD diesel and Quadradrive2. I promised my wife, Kaitlyn, that it would stay a stock daily driver and swooped it up. Eventually, I got antsy to build another vehicle. We shopped around for trucks and suv's to build, but I wasn't going to be able to buy and build something comfortable enough that my wife would want to join me on trips with the budget we agreed upon. So after some deliberation, we settled on using the budget on the daily I wasn't using as a daily anyway.

Here's how she looked for two years while I was keeping my promise.
IMG_0248.PNG