mERVn the Ski & Climb E450 ERV

whitenab

About us:
We love climbing, skiing and being in the mountains. We want to have a place to stay other than the back of a pickup and eventually take some extended time off of work to ski & climb before our knees hurt and fingers ache. I’m an engineer & my girlfriend works at one of the big apparel companies in PDX.

The Goal:
Have snowy roads & light off road ability coupled with the amenities to stretch from a weekend trip to full time skiing & climbing without completely breaking the bank.

The Considerations:
Truck & Camper: Maybe the easiest option. However, buying a nice truck + a leak free Northernlite/Bigfoot camper that we were going to gut and remodel would not have been substantially cheaper from what we would have bought + a walk through for us was worth a fair bit of money.
Sprinter Van: Not 4wd without huge price tag, questionable dealer service network, narrow. Driving quality is nice, and we have driven my parents quite a bit & liked it.
AWD Transit: Living space is tall but skinny. AWD w/ options was still quite $$$ but would be our choice if buying a new van. Driving is pretty nice & we like the ford dealer network options better than Mercedes.
Shuttle Bus: More flimsy in our opinion, good footprint, generally no built in front passenger seats. Less than ideal access to storage from outside. 4x4 conversion possible, v10, 7.3 ,6.0, 5.4 pretty much all the ford engine options which is cool.
Box Truck: Usually work trucks, hard to find with the right mixture of rear doors, roof, pass through & on a ford chassis. I like them (GF doesn’t) but for the size we were looking at most of them sit above the wheels & have a really high center of gravity it appears.
Various 4x4 RV Rigs: Almost all of them are $$$ and most of them are converted already and we wanted to do that ourselves to our taste.