Next generation snatch block

Charles R

Adventurer
If you look closely, he only has the load cell attached to the top truck in the single line pull. For all other pulls, he's put the load cell on the anchored leg of the winch line. Which is why I say he should only be seeing 50% or less of the total static load.

Nonimouse

Cynical old bastard
Interesting thread

I know Red Winches well - they are based about 20 miles down the road. I have written a number of articles about them and their products. They build good stuff. I trust them

I've just been given one of their Rings to test, along with a demo soft shackle from Ruftracks. I'm open minded about it.

I've been using synthetic line, for winching, for about 20 years now. I still use Fibre Core Steel rope for certain things. I no longer compete, but I teach winching and I'm an assessor for a truly internationally accepted winching qualification. I also recover plant, move timber, salvage and recover vehicles.

In the old days, I would wear out a Superwinch Pulley Block (it's not a snatch block) in a six month. So I moved over to TJM (with grease-able bush). They would last, at best a couple of years. Then I bought a roller bearing unit from a German lifting company. That's ten years old, this year.
So I use kit.
I don't use high speed winches. I prefer pulling power and efficiency. My weapon of choice at the moment is a G10, with a Bow2 and upgraded bearings

I can see a use for the Ring. It's light, simple and easy to use with gloves on (remember only a fool doesn't wear gloves). Metcalf has a point about it's inability to snag the synthetic line (which cheap or worn pulley blocks will do on a regular basis). I shall include it in my teaching. I'm going to knock up a version of Metcalf's block and strap concept, within the next few days. It makes sense - although I might use a block of cold pour polyurethane...