Suburban vs suburban

In a bit of a dilemma between two suburbans. The first is 1986 k1500 that's been offered to me for 600 bucks. It runs and drives and all the stuff to make road worthy, safe and legal is intact. It has random rust, some body damage and a leaky roof plus some electrical problems. My biggest concern is it's a carbed engine, which I have no experience with. There's also a 2wd parts suburban for 200 bucks. Hasn't ran in 10 years but it's all there.

The other suburban is a 1997 2500 with a 454. I like the square body style above as far as looks go a bit better than this style. But this one is mostly flawless from what I see. But it's at a dealership and they want 4,000 for it, plus all the fees, etc. Both are 4x4 and would serve my purposes well. Looking to hear pros and cons of each from experienced owners. The goal is to be able to do basic maintenance and get it trail ready for expeditions asap.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CampStewart

Observer
I love the square body Subs for a number of reasons but for 600 you are going to get nothing but a beater that will need thousands in work to keep it roadworthy. Leaky roof can be sealed with caulk in the short term but will cost quite a bit to get fixed properly. Wiring issues may cost thousands. 454 is going to use a lot of gas. Are there only 2 suburbans for sale in your region?

nitro_rat

Lunchbox Lockers
Carb Subs are pigs. It will have an early 700R4, you're going to be chasing gremlins constantly. You can get mid teens highway if it's in perfect tune with 3.42's or 3.73's with 235/75r15's or 31x10.50's. If you need a weekend beater for around the yard fine. You'll have way more than 4k in it to make it reliable. Basically nothing but body parts and maybe engine from the 2wd will help you...