9MM Pistol for bear protection?

D

Deleted member 9101

As someone that has trained to shoot under the most stressful situations for the last 22 years...best of luck with your shot group...lol.

Explorerinil

Observer
I carry firearms for a living and train at work to deal with the most leathal animal, humans. No one I work with on my department carry’s a 9mm, nore is it allowed. I’ve seen plenty of dead people with small caliber rounds, but I would never carry a 9mm into the woods for defense against a bear, when camping I take my 10mm glock and a Remington 870. In my night stand, I keep my duty weapon, 1911 .45 acp.

DieselRanger

Bear spray is like wasp spray. It's a thick stream, not a fog.

It's a thick stream that does have smaller droplets that do get carried by wind, as evidenced by first-hand accounts of people who have had it blow back in their faces. Furthermore, it's not going to work well in heavy rain or very cold weather, limitations that firearms do not suffer.

Last edited:

Buliwyf

Viking with a Hammer
I don't doubt it. But I'll deal with the burn while the bear runs away. That 1st demo vid was nothing like my spray, unless the main stream didn't show up on camera???

Bears don't always notice a bullet. Not much different than a soldier that runs to a bunker, only to notice he was hit as he ran there. But the bear spray hits them hard with a nose that big.

The bear spray is also nice because you can go straight to it without a moments hesitation.
-Is it a bluff charge? Black bears bluff ALL the time. I've been bluffed 3 times already. I'm glad I didn't shoot 3 harmless picnic basket bears.
-Is it safe to shoot? Kids in the back ground?
-Am I going to jail for having a pistol here, and/or shooting it?
None of that hesitation with spray.

DieselRanger

I don't doubt it. But I'll deal with the burn while the bear runs away.