New 2018 Colorado ZR2 - Icedragonmx's Trip Reports

icedragonmx

Adventurer
Just got my new 2018 Colorado ZR2 and had to share! I am new to the midsize forum but have been traveling in the 4x4 areas for quite a while. Last vehicle was a Xterra Pro4x and the plans for this new one include a Vagabond Drifter for a camping set up and I will mount my Keewaydin 15 Packboat on top. Hopefully with 200 watts of solar on top too and a house battery etc. for the back area. An Alu-Cab - 270 Shadow Awning may be installed but will check first if there is room for a Bundutec too! I am trying to keep the height under 7’ to allow access to the garage but may need to modify the garage a bit to allow for an extra 3”. The MaxTrax x4 will be side mounted on the camper.

Just a few pictures from the test drive to see how the lockers work at a local sand hill. I really like the green on this!

uP9sznC.jpg

Lots of suspension on the factory set up!

fLDIEsp.jpg

fG7WC7X.jpg

Heard that the spare will drag on everything!

YCkbv8I.jpg

Some of the suspension magic! I have skid plates for the shocks from 589Fabication, just need to clean and paint them and then mount them up!

Fqm7l9F.jpg

And the joys from having two extra feet of length, bumper drag :(

jtTWh07.jpg

Going to be fun to see how this performs on the rocks etc as most of my travels will include this. Here is the old thread from the Xterra Pro4x days - https://www.expeditionportal.com/fo...terra-owner-icedragonmxs-trip-reports.132219/ This will show some of the areas I play in. Might have to make a run to Cali and Moab if the Drifter can’t be delivered but will wait to see first!

I will update here with stories and pictures as it happens and will add a few comments along the way. And ****** is with the tiny drink holders and side door pockets? Lol

Last edited:

blackdmax15

Observer