Goose Gear vs Front Runner vs DIY

ChrisCosta416

Hi everyone, I am looking to install a drawer system in my 2003 Mitsubishi Montero.

Does anyone have experience with Goose Gear or Front Runner? Or maybe even had success with DIY drawers.

I am looking for something relatively light and sturdy. It would be nice if it could pull out to reveal a tabletop prep area of sorts!

dbrinkmann

Observer
What’s most important to you? Quality, your time, customizations, money, etc?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ChrisCosta416

I would say structural stability. I have been looking into building my own however I have never built anything before. I do have the tools just need a good base to start with.

60Dan

Explorer
If you’ve got the tools I say jump in with both feet!
If it doesn’t work out then go the other route. Lots of great ideas on here to get the creative juices flowing!

ChrisCosta416

If you’ve got the tools I say jump in with both feet!
If it doesn’t work out then go the other route. Lots of great ideas on here to get the creative juices flowing!

Thanks I might try it, do you recommend a type of wood to get? Or any threads I could use as reference

jaymar

Different vehicle, but try this...

autarkus

I'll second what the others have said above. I've heavily examined what Goose Gear offers, and they are double or triple the cost of what it would be if you want to sink the time to DIY. Tools and everything else, all in, just to build the base I have with a slightly more robust build cost me maybe 2/3 of what Goose Gear costs, including some experimenting and tools I have to use for other projects. But at the same time, I've spent more than a year tweaking and refining everything, since I was starting from zero experience. Design does, indeed cost money, and I learned some lessons about why they did what they did.

Having done my research, if you like the GG product and have little time, drop the coin and buy their product. The price will certainly sting.