My $100 Skamper build

Hey everyone, first post on here, and a long one at that, this is a documentation of the past month or so of my life and to the present day of my Skamper 072s rebuild that I picked up for a cool $100, and proceeded to dump much more then that into it.

So let me preface this with a bit of a Disclaimer, while I do have skill sets and the great internet to learn tips and tricks, as well as being a mechanic, I am in no way a master craftsmen or carpenter. I do attempt to do things the right way or as best I can for what I have on hand, but sometimes in the end "good enough/probably ok" engineering is just fine in my book for most things. That being said, enjoy the ride, as its been a hell of a roller coaster for me
biggrin.png

Chapter 1: The hunt/obsession begins...

Over the past few years my camping setup had started out as a humble tarp thrown over a tent pole in the back of my old 95 Nissan hardbody, to a pretty slick yet time consuming truck tent setup that moved from that truck to my Tacoma. But after a few years of that I longed for something I wouldn't have to take so much time to setup, and something I wouldn't have to belly crawl in and out of, I liked the looks of the pop up/cab over campers, so the hunt was on.

I had been eyeing this site and others trying to find as much info as I could to get me a pop up truck camper that would fit my Tacoma. I would have loved to pick up a FWC, but with a cheapskate and anything can be fixed mentality, those were too far out of my budget, and I wanted something I could build to my liking.