Digital Torque Wrench Recommendations

nwoods

Expedition Leader
I'm rebuilding the heads of a Jeep 4.7L and need a decent torque wrench. I've had some minor experience with click-type torque wrenches, and find the experience highly variable and questionable. I had the good fortune to use a $600 SnapOn digital torque wrench once and loved it, but I have a $100-150 budget.

I'm seeking your advice and opinions on the following digital torque wrenches, or perhaps something else you might prefer.

The Craftsman digital is priced all over the spectrum, from $174 in the local Sears, to $80 or so on Amazon. The utility is good, but the ratings are terrible.
https://www.craftsman.com/products/craftsman-1-2-in-dr-digi-click-torque-wrench-25-250-ft-lbs
spin_prod_913718712.

Gearwrench #85077 - Top of my budget. Sparse reviews
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01AY0JG0U/ref=pe_1843280_274409950_em_1p_0_ti
85077_1.jpg

Brownline Metal Works BLD0212 - priced nicely at $98. American made, good reviews, thought a bit cumbersome in size
https://smile.amazon.com/Brown-Line...44571&sr=1-1&keywords=brownline+torque+wrench
21jATSU7GkL._SL500_AC_SS350_.jpg

AC Delco ARM303 - quite a bit above my price range, but seems nice
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01GOUNZ10/ref=pe_2517470_274603440_em_1p_3_ti
06362618-adba-4bca-998e-a735b023e7a6_1.54cdd08a19d72aa4253ca54a5015ad04.jpeg

Any others I should consider? Any warnings or pitfalls with this listed above?

Last edited:

kmcintyre

Observer
I have the Brownline. It's ok. The functions are kind of strange and how they set/reset, beep, don't beep, etc., etc. I had the screws that hold the battery in place pull out of their sleeves. I had to send it back in and I had to pay for shipping :-( and they fixed it (probably just glued it back in).

Rallyroo

Expedition Leader