Thoughts on upgrading from an '04 Tacoma to a '16 Tacoma?

Clawhammer

Adventurer
So, a guy here locally is selling a 2016 Tacoma TRD/Off Road.

I've been driving my '04 SR5 for a few years now and I love it. I've driven it all over the east coast, Appalachian Mountains, I've done trails in Wyoming and Colorado with it and I camp out of it about a month a year total. I'm pretty attached. I put a 2" OME lift from Cruiser Outfitters under it, built a sleeping platform in the back and even a platform in the back seat for my dog to ride on. It's never let me down, but with that said, it's showing its age. Nothing major mind you, but some annoying little things. Also, this one wasn't eligible for the frame replacement from Toyota (came from TX) so I do have some issues with chassis rust, though nothing too terrible at this point.

The '04 has a few things going for it, like it's a known quantity (I've [mostly] kept up with maintenance), low miles (130k), it's PAID OFF (I really, really hate debt), old enough that a new scratch or ding isn't a big concern, and it's set up just like I need. Also, cheap to insure and simple enough that I can do a lot of the work on it myself.