Basic rigs?

Rogers1911

Hi everybody. I am a long time lurker, but this is the first time I will have posted. I am a college student who just got a job, so I am hopefully going to get a 4x4 sometime next summer. Since I will be working with very little money I just want to build a basic rig, probably a Ford Ranger, so I would be curious to know what you all think would be necessary on a basic rig. Also pictures of your own basics rigs and where you have taken them would be appreciated. If someone knows of a better place for this thread, please move it. Thanks.

Rogers1911

XJLI

Adventurer
A basic rig to get you out and go camping? Literally any vehicle with good tires, decent ground clearance, and four wheel drive. Don't get hung up on all the **** people "need" on their rigs. People have been driving Jeeps and 4x4 pickups on 26" bias ply tires places people with $65,000 rigs wouldn't dream of since the 1960s.

Stryder106

Explorer
"Basic" is relative to what you want to do. Are you traveling on graded dirt roads or wanting to go on more difficult trails? Will you be with others or by yourself? Since we tend to be by ourselves, my approach has been to think of what situations I can get myself into and then consider what I need in or on my rig to get me out of it. Examples: Winch, recovery boards. BUT, we are in sand a lot and by ourselves, nothing to winch to - so when we are alone on those types of trips I also carry a sand anchor. I've probably bought more than I need, so my advice to you would be: Good tires and suspension. Spend some money and time on preventive maintenance to mitigate things breaking. Make sure you have the ability to communicate in remote environment. Stick to what you know your rig can handle, then slowly start building out a plan for what you ultimately want to do.

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
:iagree: A vehicle in decent shape with good tires will get you a long way, just depends on what you want the vehicle to do.