Project "Autonomous" F-350

pappawheely

Autonomous4X4
I ground down all the rivet heads today except for the leaf spring mounts. My hands are still tingling. I fabricated the second upper cross member and installed it. When I was a design engineer, I used to always make things to nice round dimensions. Sticking to that practice has allowed many parts that were designed for one application to be used for another. By sheer luck, I was able to use existing holes from the rear factory cross member for mine. It saved me a bunch of time drilling through the frame and the less holes the better. I was a little nervous removing the factory cross members, I expected it to move a little but was hoping it didn't spring. I punched out all the rivets with an air hammer and removed both the factory cross members.

There is now a ton of space for my 60 gallon tank. Tomorrow I fabricate the lower cross members/ fuel tank mounts.

patoz

Expedition Leader
I will be installing some water and gray water tanks under mine between the frame rails, so seeing how you design all of this will be really helpful to me.

Looking forward to seeing the end result!

underdrive

jackwagon
Wow I haven't been on here for a while and you're moving along at full clip! Good progress, really just removal of a single one for them crossmembers would count as good progress in my book. Tho given how open your access to the frame is, I'd have been very tempted to go for the blue wrench instead of the grinder. Also I've had better luck with just a regular punch and a 4-lbs engineer's hammer while driving them rivets out, few good swings and they're out, it's less fatiguing to me than the air hammer and it's a good workout to boot... Well, and I just like hammers a bit too much :D