Old's Cool

paddlenbike

Adventurer
Fantastic thread crenshaw; I read all ten pages. I must be a real dirtbag because a 3rd gen truck with a 3.4 and a Wildernest is a pretty sweet setup in my mind. I am not sure how many people will remember this, but back in the very early 1990s there was a glossy parts catalog called "Performance Products" and it often featured on the cover of the magazine, a red 1991 Xtra Cab SR5 V6 with a color-matched ARB bull bar, fender flares and a color-matched Wildernest camper. I always wanted that truck. I kind of still do.

My 4WDing days started in 1994 when I had the chance to buy this immaculate 1987 Toyota Xtra Cab SR5 5-speed from a friend of mine. I lived in the foothills and had started my first year of community college, so I spent every single weekend exploring in it.
ke-water2.jpg

8r.jpg

I held onto that truck for three years until I graduated from college and got my first decent paying job. I had always wanted that 3rd gen truck I described above, so in 1997 I bought myself a super clean 1994 Xtra Cab SR5 V6 5-speed. I absolutely loved this truck and it proved to be extremely reliable. The 3.0 V6 headgasket campaign was going on at that time and when the headgasket did start leaking, Toyota put in a brand new shortblock at zero cost.

This is how it looked shortly before I sold it in 2005:
truck2.jpg

DSC00341.JPG

One with the 4Wheel Camper:
05210014.jpg

It was pristine. You could eat off the engine.
my_V6-engine.JPG

It had Sway Away torsion bars, Rancho soft add-a-leaf, 32" tires, Rancho RS9000 shocks, a Leer shell and I was the second person ever to transplant an e-locker from a 3rd gen 4Runner into the rear of a vehicle that never came with one. (I think Dr. Karl Bellve was the first--I just copied his work.) You can see the diff lock switch just below the hazard light switch to the right of the steering wheel.
P7100571.JPG