General Grabber AT2?

Anyone running these? I'm on a budget and a need a good tire for exploring Colorado. I was considering a set of Duratracs but then a friend recommended the Grabber AT2.

If anyone has experience with these tires I'd love to hear about it. I want to go with LT265/70/17.

I have a 2007 V8 4wd 4Runner, no lift (yet).

Thanks!

mortonm

Expedition Leader
Look up the expedition overland build on here. They use the general grabber at2s, very similar to BFG AT. No personal experience sorry

fla_cracker

Observer
Also if you look up Expedition Overland on Youtube they are up to episode 4 or 5 of their Yukon trip. You can see the tires in action. They seem to be working pretty decent on their Taco and Land cruiser...

I have no personal experience with them.

mtnbike28

Expedition Leader
I have a set on my 02 Taco, happy so far (~25k miles or so) They have worked in everything I have done. The 235/85r16 in Load E are STIFF!

mtnbike28

Expedition Leader
Both.... rougher ride than I prefer, but good when on winding roads with my Flippac. I was not happy when I aired down for the beach... I wanted more "bulge" for the softer sand.

cdthiker

Meandering Idaho
I can personaly say that they are rather worthless in the snow even close to brand new. they also seemed to chip out a bunch on gravel. Company I worked for ran them on the company burbans
but then again, I find the BFG AT lacking as well.
I think that general makes fine tires, this is just not one of them.
check out the Hankook Danapro ATM if you looking for a good price on a decent tire, I have 40 k on mine so far and they still have more then 50 percent left on them.
they have worked great on my taco
check out the local Les Schawb and look into the Wild Country XTX sport, I run those on my 4 runner and they are AWESOME in the snow and have great road manners.

ryandavenport

Adventurer