Mauka2Makai - Our Quest Begins...An 80 Series Adventure

rickashay

Explorer
Thanks bud. I've got around 6000 miles or so, maybe a little more on the ST Maxxx. So far no significant audible increase in tire noise and 80 percent of my driving is on the freeway. I'm no tire expert... it's my understanding though that tires with larger voids/treads... as they wear they get a bit louder. On a side note looking forward to seeing your upcoming Slee mods and sleeping platform.

Ok, so yours are still very fresh! haha My MTZ's got louder as well but I found the ST Maxx to be decently quiet initially, and I cant say that's the case now. Oh well, still a great tire and I'm expecting to get 75,000kms out of this set. (98% highway driving too...)

Thanks! The sleeping platform is a ways out. I've got a couple sketches and versions and just need to figure out if I want it to flip open for sleeping or be "open" all the time. One of these days I'll post my sketches and get some feedback from the overland experts on here, I'm sure someone will point something out that I wont think of, no matter how much I try to plan ahead! My vehicle gets back from LineX on Tuesday, and next time I'm home I'll be throwing the Slee goodies on, very excited!

Cheers
Addison

Mauka2Makai

Explorer
Ok, so yours are still very fresh! haha My MTZ's got louder as well but I found the ST Maxx to be decently quiet initially, and I cant say that's the case now. Oh well, still a great tire and I'm expecting to get 75,000kms out of this set. (98% highway driving too...)