Hello All. My first post. Here is my simple custom GMC Cube Van conversion.

The Wanderer

Observer
To your question about work. I don't work and I'm not retired. I work as a computer programmer. I work on contract jobs, work long hours staring at a computer screen, eating bad food and putting up with stupid people. I then save my money and when the contract ends, I become a bum until the money runs out. Then I hustle to find me another job somewhere as a contractor.

I must admit that this time it is getting harder for me to "get back in harness". Not because of lack of work, but because I don't want to go back to that life again. I am liking this lifestyle too much.... *smile*

Yes. Thank you.

My simple mind loves the fiberglass roof. I rarely need lights at night since I try to park under or near a street light. *smile* If it gets too hot I park under a tree.

Honestly this lifestyle is all about perspective.

I wash the pot I cook in by adding water and using a paper towel as a dish cloth. As I said earlier, this is the same lifestyle as long distance backpacking. It fits me perfectly. Not for everyone I know.

Peace

The Wanderer

Observer
Anyone that has walked for a few months straight with all of their clothes, water, food, shelter, cooking equipment and stove fuel on their back will tell you that it changes your perspective on travelling and camping forever. You learn to only carry what you really need. All the rest can be lived without. Weight, space, simplicity and utility are what counts.

It gives you a great understanding of minimalism. I'm NOT preaching here, but I would love more people to discuss this expedition/camping/travelling approach. Big customs vehicles have their place, but so does minimal expedition vehicles also.

If I spend 50K or more on my vehicle, that is less time I can spend seeing the world. Instead I would rather pay 10K for the truck and customization combined and stay out longer. The choice is ours.

Just my opinion.

Peace